Alternative, Rock, Indie
From: Cape Town, South Africa

Band Members

  • Brigette - vocals
  • Shane - guitar/vocals
  • Sykes - guitar
  • Dutch - bass
  • Nixx - drums

About Band

The original Autopilot was formed in the fall of 2005 and consisted of 4 members. The band line up consisted of Shane on vocals/guitar, Sykes on guitar, Seanny C on bass/backing vocals and Riaan on drums. They had 2 releases, namely the 203/Lamentation single as well as the 8 Feet And Climbing EP.

The 8 Feet And C limbing EP produced two number 1 singles on with ‘Sweet 17’ and ‘203’. The track ‘Lamentation’ off the EP was also featured on a 2005 SL magazine compilation and ‘Sweet 17’ spent a few weeks at no.1 on Tuks FM’s Demo Filter.

This Cape Town based band has since seen a few changes in its line-up and has thus since become a 5 piece. After the departure of the previous members, Shane and Sykes were joined by Dutch, Nixx and Jade in late 2006 with Brigette replacing Jade on vocals in mid 2007.

With the addition of Brigette's vocals, the band’s new material has progressed and grown without losing the essence of Autopilot.

Autopilot have shared the stage with the likes of Wonderboom, Evolver, Running with Scissors, the All Star Funk Four and 12th Avenue to name but a few. Autopilot’s music can be described as fluid groove alternative rock.

The new Autopilot recorded their debut EP ‘Beautiful’ at the beginning of 2007 and have signed a distribution deal with Bowline music. The EP can be found in all music stores across the country and can also be ordered online.

Autopilot’s music video for the title track off their debut EP ‘Beautiful’ was play listed on MK89 in November 2007 and reached the no.4 spot on the MK89 Top 10 in December 2007.

Autopilot was involved in the SAB C 3 production, Pump up the Volume, in November/December 2007 which aired on Sunday nights at 21:30. Autopilot was selected as one of the Top 6 bands in the country where they competed against the rest of the finalists in Johannesburg .

Autopilot was interviewed live on Radio 2000 in December 2007 and has recently had their single ‘Beautiful’ playlisted on the station.

Autopilot’s single “Beautiful’ reached no.2 on and knocked Seether’s ‘Rise Above This’ off the no.1 spot on Kovsie FM in mid May 2008. The music video for ‘Beautiful’ has also just recently been added to the  MK89 DVD3 out now around .

The band just recently (22 May 2008) won the C uervo Battle of the Bands at Ku De Ta, Tygervalley in C ape Town . Autopilot’s new single ‘Mono’ has just been play listed on MFM, UJFM and KOVSIE FM.



Photo Album

Leave Your Comments



Shows & Events

Show All|Hide All

This artist does not have any shows online yet.

Page Statistics

Total Views: 9902
Total Plays: 661